Affiliated Departments

The links below lead to the webpages of each unit. 

Department of Government
The Department of Government conducts research in political science, including political theory, political philosophy and intellectual history, Swedish politics, comparative politics, public administration and international politics. Virtually all research projects are externally funded. The department is characterized by its methodological diversity, including everything from advanced statistical analysis to historical method and idea-analysis. Power and democracy issues in Sweden, Europe and the Third World are all central to most projects.

Department of Peace and Conflict Research
The Department of Peace and Conflict Research was established in 1971 to conduct research and education with a focus on peace and conflict studies. The department conducts research in a number of peace and conflict key areas. Additionally, the department has developed its own database on conflicts throughout the world in the postwar period: the Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP).

The Department of Law
At the Faculty of Law research is conducted not only in the traditional realms such as civil law, international private law, criminal law, procedural law, finance law, public law, international law and legal history and jurisprudence but also in specialized fields such as environmental law, banking law, child law, international family law, and medical law. The research is often carried out in international cooperation. Both European issues and the effects of globalization are central to the research conducted within the Faculty of Law.

The Swedish Institute for American Studies (SINAS)
The Swedish Institute for North American Studies (SINAS) focuses on two fields of study: Studies of North America and studies of the relations between Sweden and North America. SINAS also offers a wide range of courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. 

Hugo Valentin Centre
The Hugo Valentin Centre was established in January 2010 through the merger of the two units, the Centre for Multiethnic Research and The Uppsala Programme for Holocaust and Genocide Studies. The Hugo Valentin Centre is primarily a research unit with a focus on Holocaust history, mass violence, discrimination, multilingualism, migration and integration, minority studies, ethnic relations, and genocide research. Conditions in the Nordic countries and in the Balkans have a special position, and culture, language, history and religion are natural points of departure for the Centre's work.

Institute for Russian and Eurasian Studies (IRES)
The Institute for Russian and Eurasian Studies (IRES) conducts research on Russia and the post-Soviet states in a number of key areas. IRES constitutes both an interdisciplinary research platform and a meeting point for practitioners and academics. The Institute conducts research in three main areas: state and market, Russia's neighbors, and identity formation. Alongside research and education IRES has an ambitious seminar and guest research program as well as annual workshops and conferences.

Faculty of History and Philosophy
The Faculty of History and Philosophy at Uppsala University contains eleven departments and a centre for research in mainly minority studies and genocide research, the Hugo Valentin Centre. Among the institutions that make the Faculty is the Department of History, the Department of Philosophy, the Department of Art History, and the Department of History of Science and Ideas. Research is also conducted in the fields of archeology and ancient history, cultural anthropology and ethnology, literature, musicology, game design, ALM and gender studies.

Faculty of Languages
The Faculty of Languages at Uppsala University offers Scandinavia's most comprehensive education and research in its field. The activities range from languages spoken in the world today to languages on the verge of extinction. The institutions that together form the Faculty are as follows: the Department of English, the Department of Linguistics and Philology, the Department of Modern Languages, and the Department of Scandinavian Languages.